We are excited to announce our finalists for Stylefit’s Student Writing Competition held this winter!
Having worked our way through over 4000 submissions across 400 entering schools, we would like to thank each and every one of you (students, teachers and parents!) for participating, and our incredible judges for taking the time to determine our ultimate place getters.
We received wonderful and insightful feedback on Stylefit as a writing tool, and look forward to continuing to support teachers in nurturing confident writers!
Year 4 Category
Judged by Suraya Dewing
1st Place – Claire Sutherland | The Colt’s Quest | Makauri School
2nd Place – Chloe Page | Going to Elandia | Hautapu School
3rd Place – Christina Wang | Robber or Hero? | Wakaaranga School
4th Place – Sophia Chen | The Lonely Puppy and the Lucky Girl | Shelly Park School
5th Place – Oscar | The Shipwreck | Cobden School
6th Place – Kaufoóu Filimoehala | The Pirate Battle | Belfast School
Year 5-6 Category
Judged by Chris Else
1st Place – Saraiah Rose Surgenor | Stuck in a Pickle Jar | St Thomas More Catholic School
2nd Place – Insiya Madhi | Diary of Anne Frank | Fitzroy School
3rd Place – Charles Finn | The Sao Paulo Forest Fire | St Thomas More Catholic School
4th Place – Sophie Dow | The Door in the Tree | Shotover School
5th Place – Sophie Eade | The Winding Willow | Waikaka School
6th Place – Danielle Richardson | Field of Lilies | Te Kura O Mimitangiatua (Mimi School)
Highly Commended – Yuchi He | Dead End | ACG Sunderland
Year 7-8 Category
Judged by Tessa Duder
1st Place – Sebastian Roos | The Collision of Universes | St Joseph’s School Fairfield
2nd Place – Ruby-Mei Mason | A Callosotomy of the Mind and Body | Peachgrove Intermediate School

3rd Place – Nova Hartley | Whales | Nelson Intermediate School
4th Place – Lis Laginestra Souza | Race to the Ocean | Mercury Bay Area School
5th Place – Timothy Smith | Earth’s End | Whanganui Intermediate School

Year 9-10

Judged by Bronwyn Elsmore

1st Place – Shelby Park | No Precious Cargo | Morrinsville College
2nd Place – Dayna de Bruin Adcock | Time Froze | Whangārei Girls’ High School
Joint 3rd Place – Alec Fernandez | Do You Hear That? | St Peter’s School & Made Amirithanan | The Island | Trinity Catholic School

4th Place – Miché Cloete | The Umbrella | Hamilton Girls’ High School
5th Place – Sayu Weerasinghe | There’s No Turning Back | Christchurch Girls’ High School
6th Place – Rosie Sutherland | 3 Little Birds | Campion College
Year 11-13 Category
Judged by Robyn Pearce
1st Place – Jacob O’Toole Corrigan | Oh, the Humanity | Tauranga Boys’ College
2nd Place – Jonny Leitch | Otis: Order of the Interstellar Species | John McGlashan College
3rd Place – Matthew May | Paint Teeth | Christchurch Girls’ High School
Over the course of the next few weeks, we will be releasing the top entries via this blog, so do keep an eye on it over the holidays and have a read of our talented writers’ submissions!
As a special treat, we are also offering schools the use of Stylefit at $5/student through to the end of January 2024. Family group offers are also available, so get in touch with us at info@stylefit.co.nz if you’d like to discuss these.
We look forward to awarding our place getters their prizes and to celebrating the writing talents of every single student that participated in this year’s writing competition!